Author Topic: 1.6 Takara low MPG?  (Read 3437 times)

Offline Mellors

• S Class
1.6 Takara low MPG?
« on: October 18, 2010, 11:23:39 PM »
New here, go easy on me. :P

My dad has a 58 plate 1.6 Takara semi-auto. He's had it for almost 2 years now and I've only been driving it for the past 4 months since I passed. It's only done 4500 because he can't drive it very often because of his back.

But in the 4500miles(only about 500 on the motorways) we have only managed to get an average of 23.2MPG on the trip computer and this hasn't been reset once since we got the car. I've done most of the last 1500miles and it's barely gone up any at all. You've probably gathered that I'm a young driver because it's not my car but it doesn't mean I'm a boy racer.  :P I'm not stupid enough as I know what it's like to be in a car crash from a few years back.

But is 23MPG seen as acceptable for this car and would it be worth getting Mazda to give it a look? It's starting to burn a hole in my pocket.

Offline Janet

• S Class
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2009
Re: 1.6 Takara low MPG?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2010, 11:45:35 PM »

But is 23MPG seen as acceptable for this car and would it be worth getting Mazda to give it a look? It's starting to burn a hole in my pocket.

I have an MPS which usually averages around 28-29 mpg on short(ish) journeys. Try resetting the trip computer, then see what happens over the next 50 miles or so.

Offline moozmooz

• Sports Class
  • Colour: Blue Reflex Mica (42B)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Trim: SE L Nav
  • Year: 2016
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2010, 12:07:19 AM »
What mpg does the manual quote?

Don't know how accurate the computer is and haven't bothered checking. Better to go by full tank to full tank calculations over at least a couple of fills. (Miles divided by litres multiplied by 4.546 will give you mpg)