Author Topic: Brake light switch for cruise control problem  (Read 6695 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« on: February 21, 2010, 09:57:31 PM »
Hi all,

After reading the excellent post on installing cruise control, I ordered the parts from my local Mazda dealer. This morning I set about installing these parts and began with changing the brake light switch.

And here's the problem.......

The switch fitted on the car has a 2 wire plug, but the new switch has a port for 4. Could have got the wrong switch?

After reading more posts, I checked to see if it had a cruise light within the instrument dials and if it was a"fly by wire" throttle, and found that they both are present.

Can anybody help me with this, or will I looking for a new home for these parts of mine  :(







 

Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2010, 10:04:52 PM »
The original switch has less connections. Just replace it and plug it in and you should be fine.
Once it's all installed pressing the break should disengage the cruise.
2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2010, 10:39:24 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

Sorry for the lack of brain cells! but what I can't understand is how the 2 wire moulded plug which is approx 1cm wide fits into the new switch socket with 4 contacts that is twice that size?

Can't the original switch do the same job at shutting off the cruise? it's still going to be 2 wires regardless of switch!

Regards


Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2010, 11:04:52 PM »
The original one does not work with cruise. I can't remember off hand the tech stuff but the new one definately has extra contacts to allow for cruise. I need to look at my thread again.
2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2010, 08:30:28 PM »
Could it be possible to add the two extra wires needed for the cruise to operate? and if so where would it be wired into?


Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2010, 07:29:28 PM »
Hello again,


Is there nobody out there who can answer my question I asked earlier? I have a cruise kit but I can't fit it!!

<a href="http://Desperate for help!!" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://Desperate for help!!</a>
 

Offline Gavin

  • Ultimate Class
  • ******
  • Posts: 1222
  • Gender: Male
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2010, 08:29:16 PM »
you got me worried now ime about to buy it for mine  :o
Forge built And remapped. 422bhp 391lbfthttp

Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2010, 08:39:29 PM »
EDIT# Take a look here as well

http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=45816.0

Have you fitted the switch and cliped the existing plug on and tried it?

I did not have to add any extra wires so I imagine that if its an MPS then you wont have to either.

I believe your cruise will work on the existing switch just wont cancel once the brake is pressed. NOTE I AM NOT SAYING THIS IS SAFE OF RIGHT.

« Last Edit: February 25, 2010, 08:44:40 PM by a15cro »
2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2010, 09:10:33 PM »
No, I took one look at the brake light switch with only two wires and freaked out!

The link you provided shows a photo of the switch with a white 4 wired plug. Mine has only two wires. Does your MPS have a 4 wired plug or 2?


Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2010, 09:16:11 PM »
My guide does not show four wires, its a blurry pic of the switch at a bad angle.

I think you have seen the US one, there is a chance that the USA loom may be diferent (for some reason I cant explain)

I personally would pull the switch out and try the new one. Not the easiest to get to but certainly worth a try.

Other lads have had it fitted with no problems.

Hope this helps.
2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2010, 09:23:23 PM »
Thanks for that,

I will give it a try and see what happens. I was ready to call it a day and sell my bits.

Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2010, 09:24:31 PM »
Keep us posted mate.

I am sure it will be fine.

2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline Chookie

  • TS Class
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Mazda...better than a Toyota!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Black Mica (16W) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3 MPS
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2010, 10:17:49 AM »
Had another go at fitting the cruise yesterday

*** SUCCESS **

I am one happy bunny!!! I was a bit worried about disconnecting the air bag wiring, so the job took around 45 mins to complete.

As for the afore mentioned brake light wiring issue I had, I appear to have been looking at something else for some reason and being upside in the car looking at it didn't help.

Many thanks to a15cro for his step through, his help. Cheers

Offline a15cro

  • Senior Member
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • *
  • Posts: 4451
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.3L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: MPS
  • Year: 2007
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2010, 10:50:49 AM »
Good result.
2017 Ford Ranger Wildtrack 3.2 auto, Westfield SeiW Zetec st170 Blacktop & 1980 Chevy Camaro Z28 5.7 V8.

Offline talon

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Saloon
  • Colour: Winning Blue (27B) Metallic
  • Engine: 1.6L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: TS
  • Year: 2006
Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2010, 10:59:34 PM »
.........
« Last Edit: March 02, 2010, 11:18:57 PM by talon »

Mazda 3 Forums UK

Re: Brake light switch for cruise control problem
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2010, 10:59:34 PM »