Author Topic: Tyre pressure Sensor  (Read 586 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline elduderino

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Meteor Grey Mica (42A)
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Tyre pressure Sensor
« on: November 10, 2018, 08:39:33 AM »
Hi
2014 Mazda 3 2.2d Sport NAV

Sensor warning light comes on approx two days after re-set(it has done this since two days after the last Main dealer service in November 2017).
Tyre pressures are correct,& set to 35psi F, & 33psi R . I have even tried increasing the pressures, to no avail, because two days later the warning returns.
 Am i right in assuming that one of the sensors is playing up?
trouble is, which one? The warning does not indicate an individual tyre.
Is there a way of finding the offending sensor?

Would appreciate any help with this.

Offline yarb

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2018, 09:27:45 AM »
Had a nail in a tyre and the warning activated, had this repaired reset the warning but after a couple of days got the warning again, pressures ok so rest it and never came on again until the temperature dropped after the hot summer all 4 tyre pressures had dropped.  Reinflated the tyres and reset the warning, couple of days later the warning activated again ,pressures were ok so reset the warning and has been fine since. Same happened after my last service
Do wonder if it’s a “feature” so you have to recheck the pressure.
Made it to retirement  :)

Offline hanix

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2018, 09:34:41 AM »
I don't think that there are any pressure sensors, the system works by measuring the difference in rotational speed of the wheels.Hence your tyres all needing to be equally worn.

Offline yarb

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
  • Gender: Male
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2018, 09:42:06 AM »
Wife has got a 16 plate Mini and her sensors give pressures for each wheel in a graphic on the big display in the middle of the dash, but only show the pressures when the car is being driven but does give a warning if a tyre goes low
Made it to retirement  :)

Offline StevenRB45

  • MPS Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
  • Gender: Male
  • Suzuki and Fiat Refugee
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Crystal White Pearl (34K) Metallic
  • Engine: 1.6L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: TS2 Takuya
  • Year: 2011
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2018, 10:43:02 AM »
There's two different styles of system in use, the one with pressures per tyre requires sender units at the wheels and a receiver. The cheaper way is rotational difference, it just uses the abs sensors to compare all 4 wheel speeds and if one is faster than the others due to smaller diameter...it puts a light on to say one of your tyres is flat.

Offline hanix

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2018, 12:51:44 PM »
And guess which one Mazda use on the 3.

Offline EWT

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2017
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2018, 06:17:40 PM »
2017 Mazda 3 Sport Nav

Tyre pressure warning light come up frequently. Probably only perception, but warning appears most frequently after adjusting and reseting pressures.  Real pain. Same happens in our 2016 MX5 Mk3 ND. Seems that you can turn many features off (eg city brake, parking warning &/or display etc) but not this !!
« Last Edit: November 10, 2018, 08:04:08 PM by EWT »

Offline StevenRB45

  • MPS Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
  • Gender: Male
  • Suzuki and Fiat Refugee
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Crystal White Pearl (34K) Metallic
  • Engine: 1.6L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: TS2 Takuya
  • Year: 2011
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2018, 08:29:35 PM »
Same happens in our 2016 MX5 Mk3 ND. Seems that you can turn many features off (eg city brake, parking warning &/or display etc) but not this !!

Unfortunately they are a requirement of Type approval similar to dual airbags, daytime running lights or ABS. As a result no off button.

Offline EWT

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2017
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2018, 10:56:17 PM »
Didn't realise that.
Bit like a house alarm that continuously goes off without reason. Very annoying, gets ignored and pointless really.

Offline elduderino

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Meteor Grey Mica (42A)
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2018, 08:20:08 AM »
Hi

Many thanks for the replies.
To Hanix & StevenRB45 , Would the fact that the front break pads were replaced at the last service have any baring on this? As i said, it all started 2 days after the service.

Regards

Offline hanix

  • Takara Class
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2018, 09:21:08 AM »
Could well be, I would check the anti-lock brake sensors are plugged in properly and not damaged.

Offline StevenRB45

  • MPS Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 938
  • Gender: Male
  • Suzuki and Fiat Refugee
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Crystal White Pearl (34K) Metallic
  • Engine: 1.6L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: TS2 Takuya
  • Year: 2011
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2018, 09:57:51 AM »
I'm not convinced, just because unless Mazda went against common sense and fitted a wheel speed sensor just for tyre pressure monitoring there would be multiple errors.

The same sensor should also be connected to the TCS, DSC and ABS and as a result if it was broken you'd expect a dashboard similar to a Christmas tree.

Having said that it is not unknown for grease smeared on an abs sensor to cause intermittent issues if the grease has metal shavings in it.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2018, 10:52:13 AM by StevenRB45 »

Offline elduderino

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Meteor Grey Mica (42A)
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2018, 07:25:25 PM »
Hi

Managed to get hold of a very helpful lady at Mazda, UK. She said that it is the Tyre rotational difference, that uses the abs sensors
She said to tell the service dept(Service next Week) to phone Mazda Tech support, & they will tell them how to correct it.

Many thanks StevenRB45 ,& hanix

Offline elduderino

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Meteor Grey Mica (42A)
  • Engine: 2.2L
  • Fuel: Diesel
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2014
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2018, 11:55:53 AM »
Hi

Just an update.
had service done, & all appears well.
Listed under investigate Tyre pressure warning, it says "Hard reset to system" never got any more info as to what a "hard reset to system" involves, so can't pass on what that means.
Was told that having different makes of tyres on the same axle, can cause problems with TPS(i have the same all round).

Regards


Offline EWT

  • S Class
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Gender: Male
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2017
Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2018, 04:13:12 PM »
The tyre pressure warning light is almost a daily occurrence now even though the pressures are OK.

Just viewed a video on youtube.com and it advised that if the Tyre pressure reset button is pressed without adjusting the tyre pressures then the tyre pressure monitoring system cannot register tyre pressure. The tyre pressure monitoring system then may not give warning if a tyre pressure drops OR may give warning if the tyre pressures are OK.

Since the system doesn't actually work on tyre pressure I don't understand exactly what parameter is registered after tyre pressures have been adjusted.

 The above doesn't tie in with my impression that the warning comes up more frequently after I adjust tyre pressures!!

Maybe this "Hard reset to system" is the answer.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2018, 05:42:35 PM by EWT »

Mazda 3 Forums UK

Re: Tyre pressure Sensor
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2018, 04:13:12 PM »