Author Topic: SCBS  (Read 927 times)

Offline photoman

• S Class
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: Soul Red Metallic (41V)
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Automatic
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2017
SCBS
« on: August 09, 2018, 12:12:53 PM »
Hi,  I'm new to the world of Mazda but so far have been very pleased with my 3 Sport Nav.  I had to take my car in to have the software updated and mentioned that I thought there was a problem with the SCBS as it did not seem to be working and I didn't want to get too close to test it out.  When I picked my car up they confirmed there seemed to be a problem but couldn't find a diagnostic code for it.  Amazingly on my way home a car in front stopped quickly about a car's length from me and the word BRAKING appeared on my HUD.  A couple of days later I thought it should have kicked in and so decided to test the system and stacked up some empty cardboard boxes and drove towards them.  The brakes were not applied.  I have watched a couple of videos showing the system in action and mine was not working like those shown.  I booked my car in again and after a full day I was told there is no error code which shows a fault and there was nothing they could do.  This is not something I want to rely on and I don't drive close to other cars but I would like to know it would work  if called upon.  I'm sorry for the epic tale but does anyone else have or had this issue?

Offline Willpower

• Administrator
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • East Anglia Mountain Rescue Team
  • Body: Saloon
  • Colour: Winning Blue (27B) Metallic
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Year: 2004
Re: SCBS
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 02:36:55 PM »

Hi Photoman.  Welcome to the forum.
Yes I had the same concerns as yourself and went to the dealers for them to check it out. I got the same response as you but perhaps a better explanation.