Author Topic: Mazda 3 rear lights go off when brakes are pressed  (Read 1772 times)

Offline mazdal3

• S Class
  • I need to update my signature strip!!!
  • Body: Hatchback
  • Colour: True Red (A4A) Metallic
  • Engine: 2.0L
  • Fuel: Petrol
  • Model: Mazda 3
  • Transmission: Manual
  • Trim: Sport
  • Year: 2004
Mazda 3 rear lights go off when brakes are pressed
« on: January 30, 2018, 05:48:43 PM »
Hi, can anyone help restore my sanity?

Car is Mazda 3 2.0 sport 2005

This is the issue:

My rear lights have been playing up. They are LEDs. They come on (although sometimes not both side) but if I touch the brakes they go off and stay off. They will only come back on again if i switch them off and back on. Also only left brake light comes on and middle window light, yet both rear lights work.

What I've done: (i am no mechanic and don't know much about multimeters etc but here goes)

I replaced the brake switch. No change.
I disconected the brake switch and put a jumper wire on it - no change.
I stripped a bit of black off a wire going in to the light (did both sides)  and then put a screw into the body. Joined them - no change.
I Put the multimeter probes on the red wire and the other (orange I think) not the black - it read 14v - did this both sides. I assume this means power is reaching the lights.
I put a multimeter probe on the black wire in the plug and the other to the body to check for continuity - i got a beep - did it both sides so I assume the earth reaches the lights. Or at least the plug side of the lights.
I wired the lights directly to some power and both sides lit up.

Other than go to a auto electrician, I'm struggling to know what to do next. I'm thinking maybe an issue with the indicator stem??

ANyone got any ideas - i'm skint and have just replaced my dishwasher so a pro repair is going to hurt this month.

Offline Willpower

• Administrator
  • Super Ultimate Class
  • East Anglia Mountain Rescue Team
  • Body: Saloon